I am about to return home after 2 weeks exploring the island of Honshu in Japan. I was part of a tour called “Japan Revealed” run by a company called Peregrine Tours. It was a wonderful experience, with cultural, gastronomic, spiritual, aesthetic and social elements in perfect balance. In short, I had a great time and would recommend this tour to anyone with a couple of weeks (and a few thousand dollars) spare. Life is too short to miss opportunities like these!
 
There was a good balance of group activities and free time, which gave me the opportunity to wander about where I wanted. I share a small sample of photographs below to give you an idea of the depth of the impression Japan has left on me:
 
A scene in the gardens of the Tokyo National Museum.
Tsukiji fish markets, Tokyo.
A wedding photo taken at the Meiji Shrine, Tokyo.
Gold fish in a pond at the village of Tomaga, central Honshu.
Evening meal at a guesthouse, Tomago.
Statuettes at a shrine on the island of Miyajima, just off Hiroshima.
Monastery guest room at Koyasan.
Temple in Kyoto.
 
A farewell dinner with the tour group tonight and a day to kill tomorrow. Then I have the flight home to look forward to. I'm looking forward to arriving home safely. Japan is good. Home is better.
 
